An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Omaha Trophy Winners Announced for 2017

  • Published
  • By U.S. Strategic Command Public Affairs

In recognition of outstanding support to U.S. Strategic Command’s (USSTRATCOM) strategic deterrence mission, U.S. Air Force Gen. John Hyten, commander of USSTRATCOM, announced the winners of the 2017 Omaha Trophies Feb. 26, 2018.


“This year’s Omaha Trophy winners demonstrated the highest levels of excellence in support of our global warfighting command,” Hyten said. “These recipients best represent the soldiers, sailors, airmen, Marines, and civilians across USSTRATCOM who are critical to our nation’s most important mission: deterring attack and delivering decisive capabilities from, in, and through all domains wherever and whenever needed.”


The 2017 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations are:

- Intercontinental Ballistic Missile: 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom AFB, Mont.

- Ballistic Missile Submarine: USS Alabama (SSBN 731), Naval Base Kitsap-Bangor, Wash.

- Strategic Bomber: 509th Bomb Wing, Whiteman AFB, Mo.

- Strategic Aircraft: Strategic Communications Wing One, Tinker AFB, Okla.

- Global Operations: 460th Space Wing, Buckley AFB, Colo.


Hyten also congratulated the other nominated units and thanked them for supporting the command’s three priorities - strategic deterrence, decisive response and a combat-ready force.


“Each of the nominated units deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions to national and global security,” Hyten said. “My travels across the command highlight to me that we have the most remarkable team in the world. Thank you for the important work you do, and what each of you contribute to this enterprise. I am proud to stand shoulder-to-shoulder and serve with you.”


The Omaha Trophy, which dates back to the U.S. Air Force’s Strategic Air Command, was originally created by the Strategic Air Command Consultation (SCC) Committee in 1971. At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command’s best wing. The SCC – an advisory group comprised of business leaders in the Omaha area – became the Strategic Command Consultation Committee after the activation of USSTRATCOM in 1992.


Since then, the tradition has evolved to five awards to recognize USSTRATCOM’s premier intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic bomber wing, global operations (space/cyberspace) unit and strategic aircraft wing.


“On behalf of the great people of Omaha and the surrounding area, it is my distinct honor to congratulate the 2017 Omaha Trophy recipients,” said Ken Stinson, chairman of the SCC. “The SCC is proud to be a part of this continuing tradition. To the men and women who support USSTRATCOM and its missions, we extend our gratitude for keeping the nation safe and for the many sacrifices you and your families make every day.”


USSTRATCOM has global responsibilities assigned through the Unified Command Plan that include strategic deterrence, nuclear operations, space operations, cyberspace operations, joint electromagnetic spectrum operations, global strike, missile defense, and analysis and targeting.


For more information, contact the USSTRATCOM Public Affairs Office at 402-294-4130 or or visit