An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

8th Air Force Bomb Comp

MCCOY AIR FORCE BASE, Fla. - The 17th Bombing and Navigation Competition saw the first appearance of FB-111s; the re-appearance of tanker squadrons; criteria for the Fairchild and Saunders Trophies was changed; and the Mathis Trophy was awarded for the first time. The best bombing honors went to the 340th Bomb Group's, from Carswell Air Force Base, Texas. The Carswell AFB unit placed second for the Mathis Trophy, awarded to the top bomber unit based on combined results in bombing and navigation, and second for the Navigation Trophy. Accepting the trophy in 1970 are (left to right) Lt. Col. R. S. Russell; Maj. A. R. Ely; Col. K. J. Green, 340th BG commander; Lt. Col. J. S. Lothar and Maj. B. R. Seals. (Courtesy photo)

VIRIN: 101001-F-2992S-001.JPG
Additional Details

No camera details available.


Read More

This photograph is considered public domain and has been cleared for release. If you would like to republish please give the photographer appropriate credit. Further, any commercial or non-commercial use of this photograph or any other DoD image must be made in compliance with guidance found at, which pertains to intellectual property restrictions (e.g., copyright and trademark, including the use of official emblems, insignia, names and slogans), warnings regarding use of images of identifiable personnel, appearance of endorsement, and related matters.